Airway Evaluation and Management - Applied Anatomy

Airway Evaluation and Management - Applied Anatomy is a topic covered in the Clinical Anesthesia Procedures.

To view the entire topic, please or purchase a subscription.

Anesthesia Central is an all-in-one web and mobile solution for treating patients before, during, and after surgery. This collection of drug, procedures and test information is derived from Davis’s Drug, MGH Clinical Anesthesia Procedures, Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests, and MEDLINE Journals. Explore these free sample topics:

Anesthesia Central

-- The first section of this topic is shown below --

The pharynx

The pharynx is divided into the nasopharynx, the oropharynx, and the laryngopharynx.

  1. The nasopharynx consists of the nasal passages, including the septum, turbinates, and adenoids.
  2. The oropharynx consists of the oral cavity, including the dentition and tongue.
  3. The epiglottis separates the laryngopharynx into the larynx (leading to the trachea) and the hypopharynx (leading to the esophagus).

-- To view the remaining sections of this topic, please or purchase a subscription --